Login Form

Login Form

×

ATTENTION: In this list you see the hosts that reflect your research and you can get an idea of the hosts present in WWOOF Italia. Their name and contacts are only visible to members. By joining WWOOF Italy and paying the membership fee of € 35 you can get in touch with your chosen farm and organize your trip and your stay with them.

Como

Since August 2015 we have lived in Monte di Carate in an old farmhouse surrounded by meadows at the edge of the forest, just above the main farms, at 850 m asl. To get there, there is track of 2.5 km, on foot (45 minutes) or with a small off-road vehicle (20 minutes). We overlook the lake with a magnificent view and we are facing South, towards Como. The climate is excellent, generally dry and mitigated by the lake. At the present time we have a farm, and we live with 4 dogs, 2 cats, 3 horses and 5 goats. We have a project for a new barn and the restructuring of the farmhouse in progress, with expansion to make the laboratory and a dryer. We are also recuperating a chestnut forest. The works consist of (non-exhaustive list): installation of fences; restoration of dry walls; building stables; daily cleaning; clearing in the forest; wood cutting; pruning; renovation of the farmhouse; preparation and cutting of fields for hay; chestnut harvesting ... The days will be interspersed with moments of experiences shared with other animals, observation of the native animals, recognition and harvesting of herbs and wild fruits, ... The meals are almost 100% organic, without animal products (vegan), based on whole grains, legumes, vegetables. We will prepare together focaccia, bread using ancient grains, cakes, etc ... The inside spaces are shared with dogs and cats. The general idea is to make a solid foundation for self-production and self-support, which together with the maximum reduction of waste, the use of natural resources, and the harvesting of wild herbs and fruit, should guarantee us most of the necessities to live. Our values ​​are based on the recognition of other individuals, human and animals, all as subjects with full rights to their own emancipation.

Ciao, after my agricultural studies I decided to continue to live and to raise my two children (11 & 14) in this quiet place in the mountains away from the smog and to eat healthy food. My little farm is located in Vallassina about 1 hour from Milan (by car or train) and 30 minutes from Como/Switzerland (by car). The farm is a 25 minute walk from the village. There is no shortage of tasks to do as the farmhouse is very old and requires frequent maintenance. There is a lot of land and there are many jobs such as collecting firewood, in the vegetable garden, caring for the fruit orchard and the chestnut trees, haymaking, in the agritourism and with educational courses with schools and cooking classes. Home cooking with a predominance of organic food. I can accommodate 1 or 2 WWOOFers for 2 weeks or longer. The accommodation, for now, is in the farmhouse in a room with a shared bathroom. I speak fairly good English, some German and French. Prefer non-smokers.